Thai Spice, Chorlton – an authentic Thai restaurant at the heart of South Manchester’s Dining Scene

Reviews

Click here to submit your review.


Submit your review
* Required Field

Dec 23, 2010 by Po and Chet P

OMG I dont even know where to start, I was born and lived in Manchester UK until 3 years ago, that’s when I moved to USA. My hubby who is American came to visit me 3 years ago we ate at Thai Spice very often... then I moved here and have miss the food soo bad. Thai food is very big here in America but nothing compaired to TS, we are both flitting back home this Friday and can not wait to eat the yummy yummy red curry with coconut rice.....my mouth is watering :)

From Tripadvisor.co.uk


Apr 15, 2010 by Elliot D

On Beech Road, it seems that you've got "the world on a street". This part of town's for foodies, and there really does seem to be enough to satisfy most any palate.

And, here at Thai Spice, that palate of yours will be satisfied. Very much so! Those good, wholesome creamy flavours will dance on the tongue for subsequent hours.

If you dine between 17.00 and 18.30 on Tuesdays to Sundays, you're granted access to a pretty exhaustive set menu from which you can pick a starter and a main for just £11.95.

Now hold on there, you're almost certainly saying at this juncture. That's pretty early eating. What then? What then?

Well, genius, there are countless utterly delightful little bars down this street alone in which, gorged on Thai food, you can see the remainder of the evening out with quiet drinks, alluring music and beautiful company.

See? Businesses working together to optimise your night out. How lovely!

From Yelp.co.uk


Mar 19, 2010 by Emma-Louise H

I wish I could get my other half more excited about Thai food. I can't think of anything more cosy than rich creamy coconut flavours and spices with a gentle kick, it's like a food hug.

And so to Thai Spice, which was recommended to me by a Chorltonian, an ex-colleague of mine who lives in the leafy suburb and eats there regularly. She's something of a foodie, and so I knew Thai Spice would be top notch. The starters are light, crisp and delicious, the tempura, fishcakes and spring rolls being particular highlights. I'd urge anyone to try the traditional coconut cream soup which you can have with chicken, king prawn, mixed seafood or mushrooms. It's that hug in a bowl thing again. The salads are also spot on, extremely refreshing... I could go on all day.

Another great thing about Thai Spice is the fact that you can mix and match your mains. They give you the basic dish description, then you can simply choose to have it with chicken, pork, beef, king prawn, seafood, duck, vegetables or tofu. If you're confused about what will match what, simply talk to the friendly staff and they'll give you pointers. It's an ambient, calming place with warm, earthy decor tucked away in the oh-so boho village of Chorlton, and as far as I'm concerned, it's pretty near perfect.

From Yelp.co.uk


Jan 23, 2010 by Alsion B

This great little restaurant is located on the very popular Beech Road, Thai Spice can be found at the Chorlton Green end of the street. It's a fairly small restaurant, and its interior decor is simple and modern, There are lots of mahogany tables with large very comfortable padded high backed chairs! Red chili lights hang from the walls alongside more traditional Asian-style tapestries. I like going to this restaurant when it is quieter during the week, as you are on Beech Road - it always has that weekend feel to it anyhow. The low level chill-out mood music is always very good too. I love the traditional Thai menu, and my personal favourite is the classic Phad Thai and spicy beef salad (£7.95) I find it quite filling, so with a drink and a starter, you are looking at spending just a little over £15, well worth it for the lovely chilled atmosphere!

From Yelp.co.uk


Jan 09, 2010 by Angela B

Thai Spice in Chorlton offers authentic Thai cuisine in a modern and bright setting. I've been in here once for the early diner menu (available between 5pm and 6.30pm) and the staff got me sat down quickly and were very attentive. Granted, it wasn't exactly their busiest time, but they seemed very professional and I'm sure this standard wouldn't slip during rush hour.

With the early dining menu, you get to choose a starter and a main from their varied menu for £11.95. One thing I will say though is that I'd like to see more fish dishes on offer at this restaurant.

I absolutely love their Gai Satay Chicken as a starter, which is presented with a garnish and special peanut sauce. For my main I went for Phad Gra Tiem with beef, which is basically a stir fry with garlic and black pepper. It was simple yet delicious. Their Phad Thai was very authentic too, the classic dish that I always use as a benchmark in great Thai cuisine.

From Yelp.co.uk


Authentic, tasty Thai food in the leafy suburbs of Chorlton - Thai Spice is well worth a visit if you’re in the neighbourhood.

Nov 09, 2009 by Sarah Leech

Authentic, tasty Thai food in the leafy suburbs of Chorlton - Thai Spice is well worth a visit if you’re in the neighbourhood.

The Venue
Located on the ever-popular Beech Road, Thai Spice can be found down the far end towards Chorlton Green and The Horse and Jockey pub. It’s a fairly small restaurant with simple decor and lots of mahogany tables. Red chilli lights hang from the walls alongside more traditional Asian-style tapestries. Lighting comes in the form of simple square light panels and the glass window front means you can peer out and watch the world go by whilst enjoying your grub.

The Atmosphere
Thai Spice can be pretty quiet on weekday evenings (it opens at 5pm everyday but is closed on Mondays) but can get really busy over the weekend with lots of Chorlton folk heading down for a bite to eat. Laid back music plays in the background and the staff are friendly and helpful which adds to the relaxed atmosphere.

The Food
Expect fragrant and delicious Thai food, that’s fairly priced. For starters you’ve got the likes of spring rolls, fish cakes and chicken satay amongst others. For the main event you’ve got a selection of curries, stir-fries, salads and noodle dishes and then you can choose what meat (£8.75) or veggie option (£8.25) if you’d prefer. The Gaeng Penang is particularly delicious and is their best selling curry. It’s a thick, aromatic curry with creamy coconut milk, lots of veg, lime and sweet basil leaves. It’s so moreish you could eat it all night and it’s just perfect with a good mound of sticky rice.

For those that can take the heat, the Phad Kraprow is a great option. Lots of Bird’s Eye chilli and garlic is stir fried in the wok with long beans, peppers, onions, holy basil and your choice of meat of tofu. It is full of flavour but really does have an intense kick to it so it’s not for the faint hearted. Other dishes include the classic Phad Thai and Spicy Beef salad (£7.95) and the more unusual Gaeng Khua Supparot (£9.45) which combines roast duck, lychee, cherry tomatoes, pineapple and sweet basil leaves in a coconut milk based curry. They also do an early dinner special menu between 5pm-6.30pm where you can grab a starter and a main from a selected menu for just £11.95. So if you’re looking for really good value that’s when you want to head down.

The Drink
To wash down your food, why not tuck into a Thai beer? Singha and Chang are available for £3.45 a bottle. Or if you prefer a glass of wine, there is a good selection of both red and while. The Cabernet Sauvignon (£3.50 a glass) is particularly smooth and easy to drink. Then there’s the usual selection of spirits and soft drinks, or you can grab a coffee or a pot of green tea for £2.50.

The Last Word
Thai Spice is an easygoing place serving very respectable Thai food and is a great addition to the Beech Road restaurant scene.


Mar 04, 2009 by Ruth Rosselson

I was really sad to see Beech Road's Spice restaurant disappear a couple of years ago, as it was one of my favourite Chorlton Restaurants. It was taken over and replaced by Thai Spice. I've been impressed with the restaurant every time I've been. The service is excellent, the staff don't rush you to get through your food and it's a very pleasurable dining experience. There is plenty of choice for vegetarians and the food is authentically Thai so much so that the Phad Thai transported me back to the streets of Bangkok, a place I've not been for over 12 years.

The restaurant does take out as well, though for the price, I'd rather eat in and be treated.

From manchester.myvillage.com


Oct 14, 2007 by Louise

Recently went here with a group of friends and was really pleased to discover such a lovely Thai restaurant in Chorlton. The food was fresh, aromatic and delicious and I particularly enjoyed the mixed starter for two (could have eaten it all over again). Will definitely return as soon as I get a chance!

From Sugarvine.com


Jul 17, 2007 by Craig

The food here was very good indeed. We had the green and red curries which were creamier than most Thai curries, and very tasty. Finally we can buy Thai food on Beech Road! ☺

From Sugarvine.com


Thai Spice , USA 4.9 5.0 59 59 Good menu of Thai food with friendly reliable service. The spicy beef salad was the highlight, loved it, fresh and flavourful! Used the online order takeaway function on their webs
Page:
«456